Seminar: Digital Humanities Approaches to Comparative Study of Medieval Musical Iconography, June 18, 2020

A jointly presented online seminar by Suzanne Wijsman (University of Western Australia Conservatorium of Music) and  Susan Boynton (Columbia University Department of Music, USA)

Thursday 18 June 2020:
– 4-5:30 p.m. (AWST Australia-UTC+08:00)
– 10-11:30 am Central European Summer Time
– 9-10:30 am British Summer Time

This seminar will comprise a joint presentation by Assoc/Prof Suzanne Wijsman of UWA’s Conservatorium of Music, and Prof Susan Boynton, of Columbia University’s Department of Music. It will introduce the Musiconis database as a tool for the analysis and interpretation of medieval musical iconography as well as training in digital humanities for postgraduate students in the French-American Bridge for Medieval Musical Iconography, a collaboration between Columbia University and the Paris Sorbonne. It will discuss a developing collaboration to apply the ontological framework of the Musiconis metabase to a corpus of musical images from medieval Jewish sources, facilitating comparative study of musical motifs occurring in both Christian and Jewish medieval iconography.

Please click this URL to start or join this Zoom seminar:
https://uwa.zoom.us/j/96710836279?pwd=cmRYbk1XcFVVQmlMR2FLaHl2TVNkdz09
Zoom Meeting ID: 967 1083 6279

Published by Roisin Astell

Roisin Astell received a First Class Honours in History of Art at the University of York (2014), under the supervision of Dr Emanuele Lugli. After spending a year learning French in Paris, Roisin then completed an MSt. in Medieval Studies at the University of Oxford (2016), where she was supervised by Professor Gervase Rosser and Professor Martin Kauffmann. In 2017, Roisin was awarded a CHASE AHRC studentship as a doctoral candidate at the University of Kent’s Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies, under the supervision of Dr Emily Guerry.

%d bloggers like this: